Skip to Main content

Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Fall 2023 Inductees

November 30, 2023

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi (PKP) national honor society recently inducted its fall 2023 class of 73 new student members during a special initiation ceremony in the Houston Harte University Center.

PKP is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for students in all academic disciplines. Invitations to join PKP are extended to juniors in the top 7.5% of their class, and to seniors and graduate students in the top 10% of their class.

ASU’s fall 2023 PKP inductees by hometown and major are:

San Angelo: Kimberly Alvarez, accounting/international business; Sydney Anderson, health science professions; Ricardo Antunez, mechanical engineering/applied physics; Jadyn Aryn, management/marketing; Seungyeon Bae, business data science and analytics; Emily Baldwin, exercise science; Emilio Cantu, business administration/healthcare management; Stephanie Ellis-Dearborn, professional school counseling; Marisol Felipe, health science professions; Rachael Grinage-Hope, social work; Sarah Henry, mental health and wellness counseling; Daisy Herr, history/English; Heather Hodges, administrative leadership; Heewon Jang, industrial/organizational psychology; Seohyun Kim, business data science and analytics; Ana Martinez, nursing-family nurse practitioner; Christina McDowell, chemistry; Jaina McKenzie, accounting; Rita Medders, mental health and wellness counseling; Mary Moreno, student development and leadership in higher education; Erin Nix, animal science; Rebecca Sankey, social work; and Devina Varela, curriculum and instruction

Abilene: Anna Kerestly, teacher education; and Serena McCon, animal science

Artesia, N.M.: Sandra Borges, administrative leadership

Ash Grove, Mo.: Steven McElyea, student development and leadership in higher education

Austin: Jennifer Graydon, social work

Bangs: Logan Bishop, interdisciplinary studies

Big Lake: Reynaldo Portales, criminal justice

Big Spring: Courtney Brockman, administration leadership; and Kaitlyn Creswell, communication

Carrollton: Nick Cuellar, administrative leadership

Deer Park: Ami Ray, professional school counseling

Del Rio: Brenda Bonilla, professional school counseling; and Annissa Figueroa, administrative leadership

Eagle Pass: Miguel Posada, professional school counseling; and Myriam Posada, professional school counseling

Eastland: Samantha Thomas, nursing-family nurse practitioner

Ennis: Courtney Tenpenny, professional school counseling

Floresville: Dr. Melanie Morgan, mental health and wellness counseling

Fort Worth: Sheena Ratcliff, applied psychology

Fort Stockton: Daniella Alvarez, coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration

Fredericksburg: Julissa Sanchez, criminal justice

Ganado: Krysta Frazier, professional school counseling

Goldsboro, N.C.: Ashley Cowan, homeland security

Great Falls, Mont.: Maj. Juan Torres, homeland security

Greenville, N.C.: Ann Marie Pelish, applied psychology

Grove City, Penn.: Chad Grubb, mental health and wellness counseling

Havre De Grace, Md.: Matthew Carter, administrative leadership

Houston: Lisa Augspurger, mental health and wellness counseling; and Viviana Vanegas, applied psychology

Idalou: Kylee Sollis, accounting

Kyle: Claudia Arellano, student development and leadership in higher education

Lubbock: Jude Cook, biology; and Madeline Stephens, health science professions

McGregor: Tiffany Harrison, professional school counseling

Middleburg Heights, Ohio: Samuel Spooner, curriculum and instruction/transformative leadership

Midland: Christian Bell, biology

Mountain Home: Katelyn Olive, public health

Odem: Whitney Gauldin, nursing-family nurse practitioner

Odessa: Breaunna Abegunde, mental health and wellness counseling; and John Elias, business administration

Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.: Scott Felando, business administration

San Antonio: Heather Aguilar, educational leadership; and Christina Valadez, professional school counseling

San Diego: Lupita Briones, mental health and wellness counseling

Seguin: Brooke Wieland, health science professions

Spearman: Deborah Molina, professional school counseling

Springfield, Va.: Jeremy Smith, homeland security

Sunnyvale: Ava DeRicco, animal Science

Tennyson: Stacia Emfinger, coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration

Winters: Joseph Escalona, management

PKP is considered one of the nation’s most prestigious academic honorary societies along with Phi Beta Kappa, which recognizes majors in the arts and sciences, and Sigma Xi, which honors majors in the sciences.

Dr. Gina Shipley, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction, is ASU’s PKP chapter president. The student vice president is Ricardo Benitez of Palestine.