Skip to Main content

Business Student Named Provincial Collegian of the Year

April 16, 2024

Daysha Johnson of San Angelo, a graduate student in Angelo State University’s Master of Business Administration (MBA) program, has been named the 2024 South Central Province Collegian of the Year by the Delta Sigma Pi (DSP) national professional business fraternity.

The Collegian of the Year Award for each of the five DSP provinces is one of the highest honors for its collegiate members. Johnson was recognized for exemplifying the spirit and leadership of DSP through her time in ASU’s Eta Theta chapter. She was selected for the award over nominees representing the 34 other collegiate chapters in the South Central Province, which includes chapters at institutions in Texas, Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri and Oklahoma.

Additionally, Johnson was named the 2024 DSP Southwestern Region Collegian of the Year. The Southwestern Region includes student chapters at ASU, Baylor University, Southern Methodist University, Texas Christian University, University of North Texas, University of Texas-Arlington and University of Texas-Dallas, as well as several alumni chapters.

Dr. Gayle Randall, assistant professor of marketing, is the faculty advisor for ASU’s Eta Theta chapter and has worked closely with Johnson for the last four years.

Dr. Gayle Randall Dr. Gayle Randall “It’s exciting to see that Daysha has been recognized for her dedication to excellence for Delta Sigma Pi,” Randall said. “Throughout her involvement in Delta Sigma Pi, Daysha has embodied an admirable positive leadership style that has resulted in an engaged membership who share a sense of purpose and belongingness. Daysha has a passion for professionalism, a commitment to service, and a contagious smile that has inspired so many to put forth their best effort for our Eta Theta chapter and Delta Sigma Pi as a whole. This recognition is well deserved, and it’s truly an honor to be involved with such a motivated, devoted and successful student!”

Already an ASU alumna after earning her Bachelor of Business Administration degree in 2022, Johnson served as president of ASU’s Eta Theta chapter from 2021-23. She has also served as chancellor, vice president of operations and webmaster/historian, as well as on committees dedicated to fundraising, community service, pledge education, ritual, Homecoming and merchandising. She was instrumental in securing additional funding for chapter activities through the Norris-Vincent College of Business (NVCOB), the Eta Theta (Concho Valley) Alumni Chapter was established under her leadership, and she has also been active in DSP national events.

Outside of her DSP activities, Johnson has served as an officer in the African American Students Association and as a representative in the Student Government Association (SGA), and she has regularly volunteered at the NVCOB Event Tent at Ram Jam tailgates. She was nominated to participate in ASU’s prestigious Housley Principled Leadership Program, and she earned the Promising Female Leader Award and Most Valued Ram Award at SGA’s 2023 Rammy Awards Ceremony. She is scheduled to graduate with her MBA degree in May.