Skip to Main content

2024 Rodgers Distinguished Awards Winners

May 16, 2024

Angelo State University employees Dr. Kerri Mikulik, Dr. Donna Gee and Cody Vasquez have been selected to receive the 2023-24 Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards honoring outstanding ASU faculty, staff and administrators.

Mikulik, executive director of admissions, received the Distinguished Administrator Award. Gee, professor of teacher education, received the Distinguished Faculty Award. Vasquez, senior admissions officer, received the Distinguished Staff Award. Each also received a $2,500 honorarium.

They, along with 34 other nominees, were honored during a recent ceremony in the Houston Harte University Center.

Angelo State admissions staffer Kerri Mikulik Dr. Kerri Mikulik An ASU employee since 2010, Mikulik was honored for being a forward-thinking and dynamic recruiter and a passionate advocate for Angelo State. Whether at an ASU event, on a campus tour, or meeting a potential student for the first time, she encourages students to find their niche and be active members of the Ram Family. Her recruiting efforts, particularly in the area of dual credit, showcase her advocacy for ASU students before they even set foot on campus. She is also a big supporter of the student RAMbassadors. A regular at both ASU campus and athletics events, she is also a member of the Strategic Enrollment Planning Committee and ASU Curriculum Committee. Off campus, she volunteers for the Wall Ag Boosters, Lone Star 4-H Club, Tom Green County 4-H and the West Texas Boys Ranch. She previously received the 2018 ASU President’s Award for Staff Excellence in Innovation. From her nomination letter, “Exemplifying the ASU values of Community and Commitment, Kerri represents what it means to be a Ram!”

Angelo State professor Dr. Donna Gee Dr. Donna Gee A 16-year ASU faculty member, Gee was honored for her commitment to all of her students, and particularly for her dedication and leadership in launching and overseeing the new Ram Residents program for select ASU student-teachers throughout the SAISD. She has not only served as a mentor, but also a guide, providing invaluable support and feedback to aspiring educators, as well as to her colleagues. She has conducted numerous site visits and conferences with the Ram Residents student-teachers to provide coaching, feedback and support, while also demonstrating a commitment to ASU, the College of Education and the teaching profession. Additionally, she has secured grant funding to conduct the annual Camp Code Robotics Camp that brings 60-65 middle school students to campus for free summer camps. She has authored or co-authored over a dozen scholarly articles and book chapters, and she has made presentations at over 30 national and international conferences. She also serves on ASU’s Faculty Athletic Council, Instructional Technology Committee, Values Recognition Committee and several others. From one of her nomination letters, “Donna’s contributions to our institution, the field of education, and the lives of countless students are immeasurable. She embodies the qualities of an outstanding educator and leader.”

Angelo State admissions staffer Cody Vasquez Cody Vasquez A two-time ASU alumnus and an ASU staff member since 2021, Vasquez was honored for being an outstanding recruiter for his alma mater, an advocate for higher education and a visible representative of ASU in the community. As the senior admissions officer, he recruits and counsels prospective students from the Midland/Odessa region, helps train new admissions counselors, and works with the other counselors and admissions staff to welcome and assist prospective students every day. He is also the advisor for the Rams in Leadership student organization and alumni advisor for the Association of Mexican American Students, and he played a key role in the development of ASU’s Latinx commencement ceremony. He completed the ASU President’s Academy for Life-long Leaders’ LEADER program for staff members and also serves on ASU’s Texas Leadership Scholars Selection Committee. Off campus, he runs his own business, the Vasquez Development Group, which offers professional, leadership and life-skills training for high school and college students and young professionals, and he represents ASU on the Concho Cadre. For those activities, he received the 2022 Commitment to Diversity Award and a “20 Under 40” Award from the San Angelo Chamber of Commerce. He also received a 2024 Distinguished University Staff Award from the Texas Association of Chicanos in Higher Education. From his nomination letter, “Cody is always willing to go the extra mile to help the students. The way he treats students, it’s as if they were his own…Through his achievements, he has taught us that anyone is capable of achieving something great with determination and hard work.”

The Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards were created by San Angelo native and former ASU student Gary Rodgers and his wife, Pat. Because of their association with many ASU employees over the years, the couple recognized the roles that staff, faculty and administrators perform to help ASU fulfill its mission to prepare students to be responsible and productive citizens. The Rodgers also provide the $2,500 honorarium for each award recipient and have fully endowed the Rodgers Awards through the ASU Foundation so they will continue in perpetuity.

Other nominees for the Distinguished Administrator Award were Scarlet Clouse, College of Education; Paul Hamilton, Housing and Residential Programs; William Kitch, David L. Hirschfeld Department of Engineering; Jenny Love, Office of Development; Brittney Miller, Office of Communications and Marketing; Katie Plum, Office of Sponsored Projects; Jeff Sefcik, Enrollment Management; Dallas Swafford; Student Disability Services; and Kristi White; Department of Health Science Professions.

Other nominees for the Distinguished Faculty Award were Kenna Archer, Dr. Arnoldo De León Department of History; Susana Badiola, Department of Political Science and Philosophy; Manny Campos, Department of Political Science and Philosophy; Roya Choupani, Department of Computer Science; Denise Goddard, Department of Nursing; Allison Huntley, Dr. Arnoldo De León Department of History; Eduardo Martinez, Department of Security Studies and Criminal Justice; Rebekah McMillan, Arnoldo De León Department of History; Gayle Randall, Department of Management and Marketing; and Leila Yarian, Department of Visual and Performing Arts.

Other nominees for the Distinguished Staff Award were Aaron Carillo, Print Shop; Heather Crawford, Admissions; Alysia Howard, College of Science and Engineering; Joe’l Mathews, Athletics; Luann McCorkle, Human Resources; Mary Ellen Moreno, Center for Multicultural & Community Engagement and Success Initiatives; Mark Multer, Facilities Management; Vinay Patel, Athletics; Yulia Priest, Arnoldo De León Department of History; Joyce “Michelle” Reed, Freshman College; Vickie Rodriguez, Department of Psychology; Vince Smith, Enrollment Management; Chuck Waddington, Athletics; Jason Watson, Regional Security Operations Center; and Jon Wilcox, Information Technology.