Skip to Main content

ASU Flag Football Team Wins National Title

January 09, 2013

Angelo State University co-recreational intramural flag football squad IM Legends won its second American Collegiate Intramural Sports (ACIS) National Championship in three years on Dec. 31 at the University of West Florida in Pensacola.

IM Legends defeated a Central Florida team, 20-10, in the championship game to win the title.  To get to the tournament final, the ASU team beat a Wright State team, 55-9, in the semifinals after defeating a Louisiana-Monroe team, 52-10, and a Georgia Southern team, 42-0, in pool play.  IM Legends also won the ACIS National Championship in 2010 and was runner-up in 2011.

Another ASU team, Vixens, was national runner-up in the women’s division, falling to a Florida A&M team, 39-0, in the championship game.  To reach the final, Vixens shut out a Southern University team, 39-0, in the semifinals and a Howard University squad, 27-0, in an earlier bracket match.  They also defeated a Murray State team, 25-6, and a West Florida team, 14-0, in pool play.

In the men’s division, two ASU men’s teams advanced to the championship bracket.  Wolfpac fell in the semifinals, 34-28, to a Kennesaw State team, and DTP lost a quarterfinal game, 39-12, to the same Kennesaw State squad.

ASU individual honors were led by official Josh Boynton, who became ASU’s first four- time All-American Official and was inducted into the ACIS Hall of Fame, joining ASU’s only other ACIS Hall of Fame member, Bradley Petty, executive director of student affairs.  Drew Biggerstaff also received the All-American Official honor.

ASU players named All-Americans were Wolfpac and IM Legends members Scott Fankhauser and Trevor Brunet, Vixen’s Alysha Currie and Jetton Fontenot, and IM Legends’ Noel Johnson.  Brunet and Danielle Walts were named the co-rec division’s male and female MVPs, respectively.