Skip Navigation

Fall 2014 Soccer Preview

Coach: Travis McCorkle (7th year)

Last Year: 11-5-2 (7-2-1, 1st in LSC)

Outlook: The Rambelles finally got over the hump in 2013, claiming the Lone Star Conference regular season co-championship, the first LSC title of any kind in program history. They also earned the right to host the conference tournament after going 7-2-1 in LSC play on the strength of the conference’s top defense. The 2014 team looks to build on that momentum with four of its top five goal scorers and a core group of defenders returning. ASU will need to replace goalkeeper Dani Edwards, who was a stalwart in goal for the past two seasons.

Top Returners: ASU returns two all-region selections in top goal-scorer Sierra Anderson (Wichita Falls) and defender Caitlyn Conaway (Kennedale). Anderson is coming off a seven-goal, three-assist sophomore season. Conaway is a three-year starter and was the 2013 LSC Preseason Defender of the Year. Both Anderson and Conaway were named to the All-LSC first team. ASU also returns junior Selena Alvarez (Austin) and sophomore Jenny Kotowych (Humble), who each scored five goals last season. Kathleen Keoughan (Fort Worth) is coming off a three-goal freshman season, and Brittany Martinez (Keller) and Brianne Brown (LaVernia) will join Conaway as the three seniors on the team. Shantel Wittke (Tucson, Ariz.), Natalie Nielsen (Schertz) and Kimber Collins (Arlington) all return to compete for the starting goalkeeper spot vacated by Edwards.

Top Newcomers: The Rambelles added 10 high school prospects for the 2014 season. They are: Lanie Bennett (Kilgore), Dakota Briseno (Burbank, Calif.), Loni Byers (Murrieta, Calif.), Tiffany Dang (North Richland Hills), Lauren Eshelman (Red Oak), Amalia Garcia (Tucson, Ariz.), Elizabeth Rodriguez (Arlington), Morgan Sibson (Oro Valley, Ariz.), Callie Smith (Round Rock) and Molly Warren (Longview).

  • Wes Bloomquist

    Wes Bloomquist

    Wes Bloomquist was the director of new media in the Athletic Communications Office at Angelo State University.
    Email Wes at