Skip Navigation

Accolades 2018

  • 2018 President’s Awards for Faculty Excellence

    Michael Burnett (theatre) Dr. Andrew Wallace (physics) and Dr. Joseph Satterfield (geosciences) received the 2018 President’s Awards for Faculty Excellence.

  • American Chemical Society

    ASU’s student chapter of the American Chemical Society (ACS) received a Commendable Award from the national ACS Committee on Education for the chapter’s activities during the 2016-17 academic year.

  • Beta Beta Beta (Tri-Beta) national biology honor society

    ASU’s chapter of the Beta Beta Beta (Tri-Beta) national biology honor society was named the Outstanding Chapter in District 2 (Texas) for the 2017-18 academic year.

  • Brenna Hudson

    Brenna Hudson of Pflugerville received the 2018 Presidential Award as the top graduate in her class and was recognized during ASU’s spring commencement ceremonies.

  • Brittney Barksdale and Caitlyn Buck

    Brittney Barksdale of Burnet and Caitlyn Buck of San Angelo each won individual national titles at the U.S.A. Powerlifting 2017 Bench Press Nationals contest.

  • Chris Matz

    Chris Matz, formerly the associate dean for public services at the University of North Texas, was hired as the new executive director of Angelo State University’s Porter Henderson Library.

  • Communications and Marketing Staff

    Communications and Marketing staff members Leonor Constancio, Brittney Miller, Tom Nurre, John Risko and Christina van Ittersum combined to win 20 Gold, Silver, Bronze and Merit awards for their marketing work entered in various local, regional and national contests.

  • Department of Agriculture and Department of Physics and Geosciences

    ASU’s Department of Agriculture and Department of Physics and Geosciences received the 2017 Bruno Hanson/Midland College Environmental Excellence Award at the annual Executive Oil Conference in Midland for their ongoing Range Reclamation Project.

  • Dr. Bruce Bechtol, Dr. Drew Curtis and Dr. Matthew Gritter

    ASU faculty Dr. Bruce Bechtol (security studies), Dr. Drew Curtis (psychology) and Dr. Matthew Gritter (political science) each published a new book during 2017-18.

  • Dr. Greg Krukonis

    Dr. Greg Krukonis of the biology faculty was awarded a $39,174 grant by the National Park Service to fund his project titled “DNA Characterization of Soil Microbes Associated With Degradation of Borate-treated Wood in Geographic Regions with High Levels of Naturally Occurring Borates.”

  • Dr. Kenna Archer

    Dr. Kenna Archer of the history faculty was awarded the 2018 UNT Special Collections Research Fellowship by the University of North Texas Libraries.

  • Dr. William Kitch

    Dr. William Kitch, chair of ASU’s David L. Hirschfeld Department of Engineering, was named the lead principal investigator for a project funded by a $99,871 grant from the National Science Foundation for the purpose of conducting a regional conference for stakeholders in undergraduate Hispanic science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education.

  • Dr. William Taylor

    Dr. William Taylor of the security studies faculty was awarded three national research grants, including a Theodore C. Sorensen Research Fellowship from the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation, a Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation Research Grant and a Harry S. Truman Library Institute Research Grant.

  • Evelyn Burch

    Evelyn Burch, a political science major from Clinton, Md., was named a 2017-18 Presidential Fellow by the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress in Washington, D.C.

  • Gary and Pat Rodgers Awards

    Annette Dixon, Dr. Russell Wilke and Julie Ruthenbeck received the 2017-18 Gary and Pat Rodgers Distinguished Awards honoring outstanding ASU staff, faculty and administrators.

  • IM Legends

    Intramural flag football team IM Legends claimed the 2017 Co-Rec Division National Championship at the National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA) National Campus Championship Series in January 2018 at the University of West Florida in Pensacola.

  • Roxy Pourshoushtari, Alexandra Shaffer and Sydney Decker

    Students Roxy Pourshoushtari of Gaithersburg, Md., Alexandra Shaffer of Anaheim, Cali., and Sydney Decker of San Angelo won top prizes for their research presentations at the 2018 annual meeting of the Texas Society of Mammologists.

  • Society of Physics Students

    For the 16th straight year, ASU’s chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) received an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Council.

  • Staff Excellence Awards

    Kevin Connor (IT) received the annual Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award for Execution. The President’s Staff Excellence Awards recipients were Jason Brake (IT), Leadership; Kerri Mikulik (admissions), Innovation; Phillip Nichelson (VETS Center), Customer Service; and Chris Steele (IT), Commitment to Excellence.

  • Trumpet Ensemble

    The ASU Trumpet Ensemble comprised of Joseph Torres, Riley Jarabek, William DeForest and Brandon Batten, all of San Angelo, was invited to perform at the 43rd annual International Trumpet Guild Conference in San Antonio in May 2018.