Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

June 2006

Release Date: June 29, 2006

TSUS Board Chair Names ASU Presidential Search Committee

Texas State University System Board Chairman Kent Adams has named 14 individuals and an alternate to serve on the Angelo State University Presidential Search Committee to recommend a successor to Dr. James Hindman.

Regent John E. Dudley of Comanche will serve as chair of the committee. Regents Dionicio “Don” Flores of El Paso and Pollyanna A. Stephens of San Angelo will join Dudley on the committee as representatives of the TSUS Board.

Campus representatives will be Dr. Nancy G. Allen, head, English Department; Dr. Mandy A. Carr, associate professor of animal science and research scientist; Dr. Maurice G. Fortin, director, Porter Henderson Library; Dr. S. Murat Kara, associate professor of economics; Flor L. Madero, coordinator, Educational Opportunity Services; Dr. John J. Miazga, dean, College of Education; and Alicia Henry, senior government major and former ASU student body president from San Angelo. Alex Yarbrough, 2006-07 student body president and a junior government major from Amherst, will serve as alternate.

Community representatives will be Mario Castillo, Class of 1970, president, The Aegis Group, Washington, D.C.; Nathaniel “Hank” Hankins, associate pastor, First United Methodist Church, San Angelo; Sandra Hawkins Gray, Class of 1974, San Angelo businesswoman and board member, ASU Alumni Association; and Fred Hernandez, manager of customer affairs, American Electric Power Texas, San Angelo, and member, ASU Foundation Board.

The ASU Presidential Search Committee will draft the job description, advertise the position, review applications and interview applicants before making its recommendation to TSUS Chancellor Charles R. Matthews and the Board of Regents.

Dr. Hindman has announced his retirement to return to teaching full-time in the fall of 2007.

ASU Logo