Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

February 2007

Release Date: February 12, 2007

Dr. Joseph C. Rallo Named Lone Finalist for Angelo State University Presidency

Chancellor Charles R. Matthews announced today that he would recommend Dr. Joseph C. Rallo, provost and academic vice president at Western Illinois University in Macomb, Ill., to the Board of Regents of the Texas State University System to become the fourth president of Angelo State University.

Pending final approval by the TSUS Board, Rallo, who has spent 27 years in higher education, will assume his ASU duties, effective June 1. By law, Regents must allow 21 days for public comment before formally offering the job to the lone finalist.

In making the announcement, Dr. Matthews said, “As we have stated throughout this process, we have been searching for an individual to build upon the considerable strengths of this fine university. We are confident that Dr. Rallo is that person and we look forward to working with him in achieving his goals for Angelo State University.”

Dr. Rallo said, “I am delighted and honored to be offered the position and look forward to building upon the traditions that have been established at Angelo State.”

Rallo has been provost and academic vice president at Western Illinois University since 2003. He was director of the Colorado Institute for Technology Transfer and Implementation from 2001 to 2003; dean of the College and Graduate School of Business Administration at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs from 1999 to 2003; and dean of business at Ferris State University in Michigan from 1995 to 1999.

He has taught at Rutgers, University of Southern Colorado, Air Force Academy and Michigan Technological University. He has his B.A. (1971) from Lafayette College, his J.D. (1976) from Western New England College, and his M.A and Ph.D. (1978 and 1980) from Syracuse University. His academic areas include the politics of international trade and technology policy in the European Union.

Rallo will succeed President James Hindman, who has served in that capacity since 1995. Hindman announced in the fall of 2005 that he would be stepping down this year to return to teaching. He is a professor in ASU’s Department of History.

The recommendation to hire Rallo comes after a nationwide search to identify potential candidates. The ASU Presidential Search Committee named four finalists for the position. Rallo was selected after two days of campus interviews with ASU faculty, staff, students and community members. Their collective feedback was provided to Chancellor Matthews for his consideration in making the final recommendation to the TSUS Board.

The ASU Presidential Search Committee was chaired by Regent John E. Dudley of Comanche. Two other regents served on the committee: Dionicio “Don” Flores of El Paso and Pollyanna A. Stephens of San Angelo. Campus representatives were Nancy G. Allen, Mandy A. Carr, Maurice G. Fortin, S. Murat Kara, Flor L. Madero, John J. Miazga and student Alicia Henry with Alex Yarbrough as student alternate. Community representatives were Nathaniel “Hank” Hankins, Sandra Hawkins Gray and Fred Hernandez, all of San Angelo, and Mario Castillo of Washington, D.C.

Past presidents of Angelo State University were Hindman, 1995-2007; Dr. Lloyd D. Vincent, 1967-94; and Dr. Raymond M. Cavness, 1954-67. Michael P. Ryan served as interim president in 1994. Cavness was president when the institution expanded from a two-year locally supported institution to a four-year state college.

The San Angelo College presidents who preceded Cavness were Dr. Rex F. Johnston, 1952-54; Dr. Bryan Wildenthal, 1950-52; Dr. John A. Guinn, 1948-50; Dr. Wilson H. Elkins, 1938-48; and Felix E. Smith, 1928-38.

ASU Logo