Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

January 2007

Release Date: January 22, 2007

Novelist to Headline Kelton Writers Conference at ASU

Award-winning novelist, short story writer and editor Tobias Wolff will be the keynote speaker at the 11th Annual ASU Writers Conference in Honor of Elmer Kelton Feb. 22-23 at Angelo State University.

Wolff will be joined on the program by San Angelo western novelist and conference namesake Elmer Kelton and 20 other authors. All events are open free to the public in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center in the Houston Harte University Center.

Sessions featuring Wolff will begin at 3:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 22, and at 7 p.m. Friday, Feb. 23. Kelton will speak at 7 p.m. Feb. 22, followed by a reception and book signing. The other writers will present their works in various sessions throughout the program. A selection of works by Wolff, Kelton and several of the other writers will be available in the ASU Bookstore.

The other participants will be Larry Thomas, Donald Williams, Sherry Craven, Lyman Grant, Carol Reposa, Matthew Boyleston, Sybil Estess, Aaron Rudolph, Andrew Geyer, Rob Foreman, Gregorio Pedroza, Jill Patterson, Jerry Craven, Nan Cuba, Jose Skinner, Morgan O’Donnell, Steven Schroeder, Amy Liang, Steve Weathers and Kim Dyer.

Conference headliner Wolff has published three novels and three short story collections. His memoir “This Boy’s Life” became the 1993 movie of the same title starring Robert De Niro and Leonardo DiCaprio. Wolff’s other works include the novels “Old School” and “In Pharaoh’s Army: Memories of the Lost War,” the novella “The Barrack’s Thief” and his most notable short story collection “The Night in Question.”

Wolff has also edited several anthologies and received numerous accolades, including two PEN awards and the Academy Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He is currently the Ward W. and Priscilla B. Woods Professor of English at Stanford University.

The conference is hosted by the ASU English Department and sponsored by the university. It is funded in part by College Bookstores of America, the ASU Alumni Association, the College of Liberal and Fine Arts, the English Department, and Guy and Eva Choate.

In addition to honoring Kelton, the conference celebrates literature by bringing outstanding writers to campus for interaction with students, faculty and community members. For more information, contact Dr. Mary Ellen Hartje at 942-2269, Ext. 230, or visit the ASU Writers Conference.

ASU Logo