Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

March 2007

Release Date: March 9, 2007

Dr. Joseph C. Rallo Confirmed as Angelo State President

Dr. Joseph C. Rallo was confirmed Friday by the Board of Regents of the Texas State University System (TSUS) as the next president of Angelo State University.

Meeting by teleconference, Regents voted unanimously to accept the recommendation of TSUS Chancellor Charles R. Matthews to appoint Rallo as the successor to President James Hindman, who has served as ASU president since 1995. Rallo’s appointment is effective June 1.

"I am delighted to be confirmed as the next president of Angelo State University," Dr. Rallo said.  "I look forward to beginning my tenure at ASU June 1 and to working with the students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the university toward our joint goal of making Angelo State the best university it can possibly be."

Chancellor Matthews said, "Dr. Rallo's background and areas of expertise will enable him to build on the excellent academic reputation of Angelo State University as it continues to expand the student base it serves."

Dr. Rallo, who has spent 27 years in higher education, was named Feb. 12 as the lone finalist for the position. By law, Regents had to allow 21 days for public comment before formally offering the job to Rallo.

Rallo has been provost and academic vice president at Western Illinois University since 2003. He was director of the Colorado Institute for Technology Transfer and Implementation from 2001 to 2003; dean of the College and Graduate School of Business Administration at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs from 1999 to 2003; and dean of business at Ferris State University in Michigan from 1995 to 1999.

He has taught at Rutgers, University of Southern Colorado, Air Force Academy and Michigan Technological University. He has his B.A. (1971) from Lafayette College, his J.D. (1976) from Western New England College, and his M.A and Ph.D. (1978 and 1980) from Syracuse University. His academic areas include the politics of international trade and technology policy in the European Union.

The vote by the TSUS Regents concludes an almost year-long national search for the next ASU president.

The ASU Presidential Search Committee was chaired by Regent John E. Dudley of Comanche. Two other regents served on the committee: Dionicio “Don” Flores of El Paso and Pollyanna A. Stephens of San Angelo. Campus representatives were Nancy G. Allen, Mandy A. Carr, Maurice G. Fortin, S. Murat Kara, Flor L. Madero, John J. Miazga and student Alicia Henry with Alex Yarbrough as student alternate. Community representatives were Nathaniel “Hank” Hankins, Sandra Hawkins Gray and Fred Hernandez, all of San Angelo, and Mario Castillo of Washington, D.C.

Past presidents of Angelo State University were Hindman, 1995-2007; Dr. Lloyd D. Vincent, 1967-94; and Dr. Raymond M. Cavness, 1954-67. Michael P. Ryan served as interim president in 1994. Cavness was president when the institution expanded from a two-year locally supported institution to a four-year state college.

The San Angelo College presidents who preceded Cavness were Dr. Rex F. Johnston, 1952-54; Dr. Bryan Wildenthal, 1950-52; Dr. John A. Guinn, 1948-50; Dr. Wilson H. Elkins, 1938-48; and Felix E. Smith, 1928-38.

ASU Logo