Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

March 2007

Release Date: March 20, 2007

WTMA Science Lectureship to Feature Nobel Prize Winner

Dr. Joseph H. Taylor, Jr., Nobel Prize winner in Physics, will be the featured speaker at the 31st Annual West Texas Medical Associates Distinguished Lectureship in Science Honoring Dr. Roy E. Moon Tuesday, March 27, at Angelo State University.

Taylor’s public talk, titled “Binary Pulsars and Relativistic Gravity,” will begin at 8 p.m. March 27 in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center in the ASU Houston Harte University Center. Prior to the public lecture, Taylor will also meet with ASU students to explain pulsars, clocks and gravity at 2 p.m. The lectures are open free to the public.

Along with his research partner, Russell A. Hulse, Taylor in 1993 was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for the discovery of the first binary pulsar, a rapidly rotating neutron star that emits pulses of radiation. The significance of the discovery was the powerful support it lent to Albert Einstein’s theory of gravity, an integral part of his general theory of relativity.

Currently the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor at Princeton University, Taylor holds a Ph.D. in astronomy from Harvard and has held academic positions at Harvard and the University of Massachusetts. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Physical Society. His other professional memberships include the American Astronomical Society, International Scientific Radio Union and International Astronomic Union.

Besides the Nobel Prize, Taylor has also won the Einstein Prize from the Albert Einstein Society, the Wolf Prize in Physics, the Tomalla Foundation Prize in Gravitation and Cosmology and the Karl Schwarzschild Medal from Astronomische Gessellschaft. He was also a member of the National Research Council’s Committee on Assessment of Options for extending the life of the Hubble Space Telescope and has published more than 200 articles in the professional research literature of physics and astronomy.

The WTMA Lectureship honors Dr. Roy E. Moon, a longtime San Angelo obstetrician and gynecologist, who died in 1976. He practiced for 28 years with Clinic Hospital Medical Associates, now West Texas Medical Associates. The lectureship was established in 1976 and is underwritten by a grant to ASU from members of WTMA.

For more information, call the ASU College of Sciences at 942-2024.

ASU Logo