Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

May 2007

Release Date: May 7, 2007

Visiting ASU History Lecturer Earns Fulbright Fellowship

Leland Turner, a visiting lecturer in the Angelo State University History Department, has been awarded a Fulbright Post Graduate Fellowship to Australia to compare the ranching industries of the American Southwest and the Australian Outback.

Turner’s research project, titled “Grassland Frontiers of the Outback and Southwest: Bovine Economics, Arid Environments and Enduring Myth,” is a transnational comparative study of cattle raisers, their economic activities and the harsh environments in which they operated.

The research examines how the quest of cattle raisers on both the American and Australian continents to take dominion over arid lands contributed powerfully to frontier mythology, specifically the American cowboy and the Australian bushman. Turner believes the resultant pastoral cultures of the Outback and Southwest left frontier legacies that continue to help define U.S. and Australian national identities in a rapidly globalizing society.

Turner is the second ASU history scholar in the past year to receive a Fulbright Fellowship. Last fall, assistant professor of history John E. Klingemann was awarded a García-Robles Fulbright Fellowship to research the Mexican Revolution and document how defeated revolutionaries reintegrated themselves into society and became active citizens.

During the 2006-07 academic year, Turner has taught on the ASU history faculty. A doctoral candidate in history at Texas Tech University, Turner is a specialist in 19th Century U.S. History, the American Southwest, Latin American history and agricultural history.

He holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Tulsa and a master’s degree in history from Texas Tech, where he received the David M. and Winifred Vigness Scholarship, the S. S. McKay Memorial Scholarship and a 2006 Summer Dissertation Research Award. The West Texas Historical Association awarded him the Earnest Wallace Graduate Student Research Grant.

The Fulbright program, established in 1946, awards approximately 800 scholarships annually to researchers nationwide. The program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs with the goal of building mutual understanding between people of the United States and other countries. Recipients of the Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and demonstration of extraordinary leadership potential in their fields.

ASU Logo