Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

October 2007

Release Date: October 12, 2007

Dr. Hindman Designated President Emeritus by TTU System

For his distinguished service of more than a dozen years as president, Dr. E. James Hindman was awarded the honorary title of “President Emeritus of Angelo State University” by a unanimous vote of the Texas Tech University Board of Regents on Friday.

While emeritus appointments are honorary and without compensation, they are the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a faculty member or administrator for long, faithful and distinguished service to the university.

In a sense, the board honored one of its own as Hindman grew up in Lubbock and holds his bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees, all in history, from Texas Tech University.

Hindman served as ASU’s president from December 1994 through May 2007. Under his leadership, ASU implemented 23 new graduate and undergraduate degrees as well as 10 new degree options or certifications. He oversaw implementation of an Academic Master Plan, the Centennial Master Plan for facilities and the institution’s first marketing plan.

During his tenure, ASU underwent the biggest building boom since the early years as a four-year institution. New campus facilities opened during tenure were the following: Junell Center/Stephens Arena; LeGrand Alumni and Visitors Center; Mathematics-Computer Science Building; Science Building III; Texan Hall; Pavilion; Softball Field Complex; Lighted Intramural Fields; and Foster Field.

Major expansions during Hindman’s tenure occurred in the following: Houston Harte University Center; Carr Education and Fine Arts Building; Porter Henderson Library; Food Product and Safety Lab-Management, Instruction and Research Center; and Facilities Maintenance Facility.

ASU athletics expanded to include softball and baseball during his tenure and captured one NCAA Division II team national championship as well as eight individual track and field national titles. Ram and Rambelle teams also captured eight Lone Star Conference championships and a dozen LSC South Division titles during that time.

ASU Logo