Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

April 2002

Release Date: April 26, 2002

ASU College of Sciences Names Everhart, Medical Center Scholarships Recipients

The Angelo State University College of Sciences has announced the recipients of the Dr. Merrill W. Everhart Scholarship in Science and the San Angelo Community Medical Center Auxiliary Scholarship for the 2002-03 academic year.

Junior chemistry major Soumaley Rattanasavanh has been named the recipient of the $1,000 Everhart Scholarship and Connie Zant, a senior nursing major from Ackerly, has been awarded the $1,200 San Angelo Community Medical Center Auxiliary Scholarship.

Rattanasavanh plans to continue her education either by seeking a master's degree in chemistry or by going to medical school. She is a member of Alpha Chi and is active in the American Chemistry Society and Epsilon Sigma Alpha.

Zant is a member of Phi Theta Kappa Society and a volunteer promoting health care at local health fairs. After graduation, she plans to pursue a master of science in nursing degree, focusing on community health.

The Everhart Scholarship was created by the last will and testament of Mrs. Julia Tidwell Everhart in honor of Dr. Everhart. The bequest funds an annual scholarship for a student majoring in one of the sciences at ASU.

The San Angelo Community Medical Center Auxiliary Scholarship is awarded annually by the auxiliary to a junior or senior ASU student who graduated from a Texas high school and is majoring in any medical or medically related field.

The two recipients will be honored during a reception at 1:30-2:30 p.m. Friday, April 26, in the Conference Room of the Vincent Nursing-Physical Science Building on the ASU campus.

ASU Logo