Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

January 2002

Release Date: January 30, 2002

Four ASU Staff Honored with Employee Excellence Awards

Four Angelo State University staff members received Employee Excellence Awards from ASU President James Hindman during a university-wide ceremony in the Houston Harte University Center Wednesday morning.

Recipients of the Employee Excellence Awards for the 2001 calendar year were Lisa Hernandez, office coordinator, Office of Admissions and Retention; Martha Hicks, accountant-coordinator for the Fiscal Office; June Moore, office coordinator for the Center for Career Development; and Todd Schafer, coordinator of research for the Department of Agriculture and the university's Management, Instruction and Research (MIR) Center.

Hindman acknowledged their outstanding performance and presented each recipient with a plaque in recognition of their commitment and dedication to ASU, its students, their fellow employees and the public. Designation as an Employee Excellence Award recipient also brings with it a $300 honorarium.

The award is designed to recognize non-teaching staff members whose job performance exceeds the customary standards or who exhibit outstanding skills or dedication while performing special projects on behalf of the university. The four recipients were selected from a pool of 29 nominees from across the campus.

"Though the university's primary mission is to educate our students," Hindman said, "it takes a lot of staff support outside the classroom for our faculty to accomplish that mission. Those staff members nominated for the Employee Excellence Award and those chosen to receive it deserve not only this recognition but also our thanks for a job well done."

Hernandez has been employed at ASU for more than a decade. In addition to the quality and quantity of work she performs, Hernandez was praised for the numerous cost-savings measures she has implemented in the admissions office. Her vision, leadership and empathy are special skills that make her most effective in assisting the public and in dealing with other staff members.

Hicks joined the ASU staff in 1988 and currently audits student room and board charges to ensure accuracy for the Fiscal Office. In that capacity, she works closely with the Residence Life Office, whose staff members describe her as efficient, friendly and accountable. In addition to her commitment to her job, she has shown innovation in making numerous procedures easier to follow.

Moore has been employed by the university since 1999 and in that short time has shown an ongoing can-do attitude and a special dedication to help the students who use the services of the Center for Career Development. She has helped numerous ASU students and graduates find satisfying jobs. She was also praised for her coordination of the ASU Job Fair.

Schafer joined the ASU staff in 1995 and is described as a model of dedication for all employees. He oversees the operations of the MIR Center as well as the care of university livestock. He is often found at the MIR Center after hours and on weekends to ensure a high level of animal care. He helps faculty with their research projects and is the consummate team player.

In addition to the recipients, the other nominees for the Employee Excellence Awards were: Robert Armendariz, Tamera S. Arranaga, Shannon C. Berry, Donald L. Boyd, Linda F. Brasher, Claudia G. Carrasco, Audrey D. Chaumont, Wanda J. Green, Lou Holman, Mitzie Keeling, Charlotte W. Klepac, C. Diane Lange, F. Polly Lux, Alfredo P. Martinez, Margaret Mata, Tanya L. Norris, Janetta K. Paschal, Bradley C. Petty, Pam Rodgers, Angela L. Skaggs, Richard O. Stinnett, Alma L. Valdez, Sally T. Walker, Sydne D. Walker and Cindy Weeaks.

ASU Logo