Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

July 2002

Release Date: July 10, 2002

Additional Carr Scholarships Awarded for 2002-03 Academic Year at ASU

Angelo State University has awarded an additional 56 Carr Academic Scholarships to entering freshmen for the 2002-03 academic year.

The newly awarded scholarships range in value from $1,500 to $6,000 and go to students representing communities throughout Texas as well as from South Carolina, South Africa, Nigeria and India. More than 230 incoming ASU students will receive Carr Academic Scholarships this fall.

During the current year more than 1,000 students from throughout Texas and the nation, as well as several foreign countries are attending ASU on Carr Academic Scholarships. As a general rule, to qualify for Carr Academic Scholarships, entering freshmen must rank in the top 15 percent of their class and present either a combined math and verbal score of 1140 on the SAT I or a composite score of 25 on the ACT.

The scholarship program at Angelo State is supported by a growing multi-million dollar trust established by the late Robert G. and Nona K. Carr of San Angelo.

The following list includes new award recipients for 2002-03, as of July 5:

Abernathy: Crystal G. Perez.

Abilene: Susan M. Flores and Aaron W. Hamilton.

Alvarado: Raymond D. Cherry.

Ballinger: Lauren A. Ogle, Apurvi R. Patel and Clifford R. Wheeler.

Big Lake: Kendra R. Calley and Armando Ojeda.

Blanket: Cody J. Bundick

Bloemfontein, South Africa: Ika Vlok.

Bolade Oshodi, Nigeria: Jubril O. Ajayi.

Bronte: Morgan L. McCutchen and Candace L. Schoenfield.

Cedar Park: Wesley G. Garbee.

El Paso: Jasmine J. Gallegos.

Eldorado: Juan A. Herrera.

Farwell: Jessica D. Chandler.

Fort Stockton: Adrian C. Blanco.

Fort Worth: Leigh-Taylor Saye.

Hamlin: Toby M. Allen.

Haskell: Katy M. McDaniel.

Hermleigh: Sabrina N. Terry.

Houston: Blake A. Rieger.

Iraan: Cynthia Rios.

Irmo, S.C.: Marie E. Trankovich.

Irving: Kiona P. Coleman.

Loraine: Heather D. Lucas.

McCamey: Jacob D. Hines and Clifford L.Thompson.

Miles: Tiffany L. Riordan.

New Delhi, India: Neha Anand.

Noida, India: Arina Goyle.

Odessa: Lacey K. Moore. Ozona: Jordan A. Webster.

Pampa: Cory D. Bigham.

Petersburg: Daniel N. Martinez.

Rotan: Heather R. Martinez.

San Angelo: Amanda S. Cole, Laurie D. Gober, Linsey M. Lovell, Janki D. Shah, Jessica L. Weber and Matthew S. Willey, all from Central High School; Nyssah D. Hamilton, from Grape Creek High School; and Jason J. Arnold and Joanna Y. Garza, both from Lake View High School.

San Antonio: Krystin L. Mitchell.

Seagraves: Kourtney M. Barron.

Seguin: Barbara L. Covill.

Sinton: Jason T. Brittain.

Slaton: Raelye N. Taylor.

Snyder: Anna L. Williams.

Vega: Charles J. Parsley.

Vernon: Kelly A. Gorham.

Zaria, Nigeria: Taiwo O. Osunlalu.

ASU Logo