Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

March 2002

Release Date: March 21, 2002

ASU Alumnus Hobbs to Deliver 2002 Wells Fargo Lecture

Landel C. Hobbs, executive vice president and chief financial officer for Time Warner Cable as well as a 1984 Angelo State University graduate, will deliver the Wells Fargo Distinguished Lectureship in Business at Angelo State University Thursday, April 18.

He will speak on "Who is AOL Time Warner?" during his 9:30 a.m. April 18 address in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center in ASU's Houston Harte University Center. The Wells Fargo Distinguished Lectureship in Business is sponsored annually by Wells Fargo of San Angelo. The lecture is open free to the public.

In his current capacity at Time Warner Cable, Hobbs is responsible for all areas of finance, accounting and treasury as well as tax, facilities and information technology. He is based in Stamford, Conn.

Prior to his present position, Hobbs was vice president, financial analysis and operations support, for AOL Time Warner. As such, he oversaw budgeting, financial forecasts and profit improvement for the various AOL Time Warner divisions, including AOL, Warner Bros., Time Warner Cable, Warner Music, Time Inc., HBO, Turner, New Line Cinema and the WB Network.

AOL Time Warner (NYSE: AOL) is the world's first internet-powered media and communications company, whose industry-leading businesses include interactive services, cable systems, publishing, music, cable networks and filmed entertainment.

The Wells Fargo Distinguished Lectureship in Business was established in 1995 to strengthen the relationship between the San Angelo business community and Angelo State University and to provide ASU students with exposure to business leaders who can offer practical ideas and solutions to today's management problems. Wells Fargo of San Angelo underwrites the annual lectureship.

Members of the Wells Fargo Distinguished Lectureship in Business Coordinating Committee are Dr. Michael W. Butler, chair and dean of the ASU College of Business and Professional Studies; James Cummings, president, Wells Fargo Bank, San Angelo; Dr. Tom Badgett, ASU Department of Management and Marketing; Pamela Brown, director, Small Business Development Center; Dr. Sudhir K. Chawla, Department of Management and Marketing; Preston Lewis, ASU News and Information Office; Dr. Norman Sunderman, Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance; Dr. Sharynn M. Tomlin, Department of Management and Marketing; and Dr. J. Thomas Yokum Jr., Department of Management and Marketing.

Past Wells Fargo lecturers have included Patricia Diaz Dennis, senior vice president for regulatory and public affairs, SBC Communications Inc.; Linda Alvarado, president, Alvarado Construction Inc. and limited partner, Colorado Rockies Major League Baseball Team; E.R. "Dick" Brooks, chairman and CEO, Central and South West Corp.; Drayton McLane, Jr., chairman, McLane Group, L.P., and Houston Astros Baseball Club, Astrodome USA; David Hirschfeld, chairman and CEO, Hirschfeld Steel Co., Inc.; and F.L. "Steve" Stephens, chairman and CEO, Town & Country Food Stores, Inc.; Richard M. Kovacevich, chairman and CEO Norwest Corp.; Robert T. Herres, chairman and CEO, USAA.

ASU Logo