Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

May 2002

Release Date: May 22, 2002

Angelo State to Host NCAA Div. II Track & Field Championships May 23-25

Premier collegiate athletes from 95 universities and 30 states will converge on San Angelo for the 2002 NCAA Division II Outdoor Track and Field Championships Thursday through Saturday (May 23-25) at the Multipurpose Sports Complex on the Angelo State University campus.

The 2002 track and field season finale will mark the fourth time the NCAA has hosted its Division II outdoor championships at ASU. Tickets to the event are available to the public through the ASU Fiscal Office in the Administration Building or at the gate each day of the championship. Tickets cost $4 for Thursday, $4 for Friday and $6 for Saturday. A three-day meet pass is available for $12.

More than 600 male and female athletes as well as 202 track and field coaches from throughout the United States will be participating in the championships over the course of the three-day event. Competitions will begin at 10:30 a.m. on Thursday, 10 a.m. on Friday and 1 p.m. on Saturday. Events will conclude each day at 10 p.m.

Competitions will begin Thursday with qualifying events except for the field events, including the heptathlon, decathlon and 10,000-meter run. Friday's activities will include additional qualifying events except for field events, including the heptathlon, decathlon, 3,000-meter run and 3,000-meter steeplechase. On Friday all events will be finals, starting with women's javelin at 1 p.m. and concluding with the team awards at 9:45 p.m.

Angelo State last hosted the national championship meet in 1992. Previous championships were held on the ASU campus in 1989 and 1991. Since the last NCAA championship meet, the ASU track has been resurfaced and the Junell Center/Stephens Arena has been built on the north end of the Multipurpose Sports Complex. The Junell Center will be the headquarters for the championships.

Athletes will be competing from universities in Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

For ticket information, call 942-2014.

ASU Logo